Poets logo

For Ophelia

By Phantasma

By Rachel JacobsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Ophelia from Claymore

I have sat and waited, day in and day

Out for his return. He is home, but not

Really. Someone has plucked away my

Hamlet and left this strange young man in his

Place. Or- Could it be that this was always

Him? That he has habitually been

A man with fangs that lurk behind his eyes?

Fangs that I too would be pierced with. They sunk

Into me... plunging me into a sea

Of unrest! I’ve been dreaming about that

Creek that sings songs to me as I drift

To sleep. It tells me that it has flowing

Waters that will heal my soul! Its flowing

Stream is ungrudging, and will reunite

Me with my father! I know that a creek

Cannot speak, but no one in the living

Is calling my name anymore. Perhaps

I will see what it is like to submerge,

See if those cool, salubrious waters

Will soothe my breaking heart. Permanently.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rachel Jacobs

Welcome to The Chameleon Heart.......

@phantasma.philosophy ~ Instagram for my poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.