Poets logo

For Fija Rose

A Poem about Friendship

By Allie BickertonPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
10
For Fija Rose
Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

I didn’t pay attention to the contents of

Your soul enough

To send you that Poem in a letter

Truth is, I’m only writing that Poem now

___

I told myself I would never fill your tea cup

With coffee, but I got lazy

I told myself I wouldn’t take your things to

Work, but I didn’t listen

Your red scissors are now used to cut

Parisian gnocchi

Which I find perfectly humorous

Considering you’re close to Paris

Last I checked

___

You told me the blood of the covenant

Is thicker than water of the womb

And you made me feel like

I was your family

___

A thread frayed

Was your face when you spoke about love

Rare was the absence of tenderness

Faintly delivered from your mouth

When I hear the word “wee”

I hear it in your voice

And I imagine the sound and the feeling

Of a coffee bean crushing under my foot

A good omen if you ask me today

___

I often wonder what you’re doing now

Desperately hoping that I’ll reach you

And find that you’re not mad at me

For losing touch

In the first place

heartbreak
10

About the Creator

Allie Bickerton

She / Her - Canada

I spent most of my life immersed in visual arts and I neglected my literacy.

Nurturing harboured emotions and poetic thoughts I’ve stashed within.

Thank you for being here! 💕

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • ilan scribblerabout a year ago

    that's a beautiful piece of writing. great insight. subscribed. good day.

  • Gabriel Huizengaabout a year ago

    Beautiful and very relatable- relational distance is such a difficult thing to walk through. Thank you for sharing your lovely work!

  • D.L. Finnabout a year ago

    I love the depth of the emotions captured here!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Emotional and thought-provoking, tied together with wonderful, truly beautiful words. Thank you so much for sharing this, it moved me. 🥹❤️

  • Some beatiful words and lines here

  • Bex Jordanabout a year ago

    "A thread frayed / Was your face when you spoke about love" This is so beautiful, and I understand so deeply that regret of falling out of touch with people who mean so much.

  • Joel Lippertabout a year ago

    Just lovely. somewhat sad, but lovely. Just be good to yourself.

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Such feelings of sadness evoked. I felt every emotion. Poetry truly helps to cleanse the soul. Well done. Hearted and subscribed.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.