Poets logo

For Emily

Wherever we may find you

By Helen HaywardPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
For Emily
Photo by Sasha Freemind on Unsplash

I felt my life with both my hands,

To see if it was there.

I threw my spirit to the sky,

To prove it floats on air.

My heart, left at the river mouth,

Pulsed oceans all around.

So many thoughts, high in the heavens,

Athena crumbled through her cloud.

So all the stars and seas and skies

Circled into one,

And formed a golden river that

melted on my tongue.

I tried and tasted, sipped and savoured,

Since they gave to me this fayre,

For I felt my life with both my hands

To see if it was there.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.