Poets logo

Foolishly Broken Hearted

The Truth

By Mercedes ChavezPublished 24 days ago Updated 24 days ago 1 min read
3
Artist Unknown

Why do I even bother? Why do I even try?

I'm not what you want, I never will be

You've made that perfectly clear without even speaking the words

I'm just what's currently available

Something reliable, something convenient

All because I told you what is in my heart

Everything I have come to feel for you

I should have stopped when I realized you never knew what to say back

The Fool who listened to her heart... again

It was only just a few months ago

When I spent most nights crying myself to sleep

Asking what was wrong with me and how I could continue to keep making the same mistakes

Feeling stupid and used

I am temporary for you

A toy for you to play with whenever you want until you get tired of playing with me

A warm body to fill the space next to you until you find who you truly want

When called upon, I came running back

Arms ready to embrace, heart ready to love, soul ready to heal what is broken

How am I to have the strength to heal you, when I know with each fleeting moment, all the love I give will eventually turn into a slap to the face?

sad poetryheartbreakFree Verseart
3

About the Creator

Mercedes Chavez

Come with me, lets go on an adventure together, see the world through my eyes, let me paint a picture with my words, I promise you will be able to feel what I felt the first time I experienced it. Love, sadness and everything in between.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran24 days ago

    Gosh that last line was like a slap to my face! Loved your poem!

  • Kendall Defoe 24 days ago

    And people wonder why I don't look for happiness in relationships...

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.