Poets logo

Foolish Woman

An open wound

By Leslie HernandezPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Photo by kiefer Jones

I’m a foolish woman, who likes her tomorrows promised.

Naturally I fell for you and the promises of what could have been.

I crave you on more nights than not,

in ways too difficult for words.

I crave for you to one day find home in me,

Just as much as I crave to be free.

Both craving an intimacy our egos refuse to make room for.

We grew accustomed to abandoning the forevers we placed,

in each other,

we found a tainted permanence.

The ability to come and go as we please.

Meanwhile holding on to the illusion of a love,

undeserving of our shallow hearts.

In this game of tug of war,

I've often been left broken and bruised.

When I thought you’d heal my open wounds:

I was greeted with salt on your fingertips,

and the taste of razorblades on your lips.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Leslie Hernandez

A seeker. A mover. A malcontent, and at times a stupid hell-raiser.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.