Poets logo

Hear me in black and white

Poetic or Chaotic

By Leslie HernandezPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
6
Photo by https://www.instagram.com/kiefermfjones/

I write poems you’ll never read because I’ve always felt more worthy of being heard

In black and white,

I can be poetic and digestible.

Easy to swallow.

With paper and pen, I can bleed and be open

Through the wound I inhale and allow oxygen to flow into me

Filling veins that hold more alcohol than crimson

Too often my mind crowds with doubts,I can only sort with liquor and a pen.

On these night vulnerability no longer feels like a superhuman ability just out of my reach

And I’m able to invite you in.

Take a seat

Indulge in safety; a home I’ve built to find refuge when it gets dark outside.

Don’t mind the mess

Allow me to take your coat and undress your mind.

Intimacy is our expertise

Lips trace skin and

Draw a butterfly habitat inside my rib cage

Tongue delving into crevices

Painting an ocean landscape, your specialty

Your anatomy’s blueprint tattooed into my deepest desires

White bed sheets inhabit our favorite canvas

Brush strokes, deep enough to convince me,

In another lifetime you were Picasso.

Detangle the fear out of my hair as you caress me to sleep.

I won’t flinch on nights your demons show up

If you stay when my defects start showing, when you begin to notice, outside of pages of black and white; Instead of poetic, I am chaotic.

Distasteful and unfiltered.

I struggle to keep up with my own thoughts and say “fucking” too much,

I don’t take anyone’s advice, especially when they’re right,

Jaded from writing the same story about a lover turned enemy.

Some nights liquor and a pen will be my only remedy.

Hold me close and let’s pretend that being accessible isn’t something new to you and me.

art
6

About the Creator

Leslie Hernandez

A seeker. A mover. A malcontent, and at times a stupid hell-raiser.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.