Poets logo

Fool's Gold

Poem written by Summer Wilborn

By Summer WilbornPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Fool's Gold
Photo by Zlaťáky.cz on Unsplash

I was a determined woman on the hunt

I was searching for a treasure

Searching for something valuable and special

To call my own

Then one day I found it

Unexpectedly in the darkness

There it was

It was shiny, brilliant and strong

Just like gold

I was so proud of the new treasure I had found

So, I went and told my mother

I told everyone around town

I was so happy that I found it

It appeared perfect in my eyes

I was blinded by its beauty

I looked at it and said to myself

“Wow what a prize”

But once I opened up this prize

I was swept into a whirlwind

Full of confusion, deception and lies

It revealed its true form

It was no longer golden, shiny and strong

It was now brassy, dirty and weak

I asked myself

“Where I did, I go wrong”

I had found fool's gold

How could I have been fooled for so long?

I didn’t want no parts of this discovery

I didn’t want it in my sight

Once I knew the truth

I was very disappointed

I didn’t even put up a fight

It had mimicked gold so well

But it was really pyrite

A wolf in sheep's clothing

A silent thief in the night

This taught me a lesson

I realized that I shouldn’t have gone

Searching for something

That was within me the whole time

Because in fact, I am a treasure

I am valuable and special

I am a rare find

I am beautiful

I am brilliant

I am Golden and strong

Not being able to see my worth

In the beginning is where I went wrong

Now I know my worth

love poems
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.