Poets logo

Flowers

A Sestina Poem

By Rick Henry Christopher Published 4 months ago β€’ 3 min read
Top Story - January 2024
48
Flowers
Photo by Veronika Klimchuk on Unsplash

On the day that I died, I felt a sensation like floating through the air.

A strange feeling; my mood had changed. I no longer had a care.

They stood around me, tears were rolling, sharing stories, and bringing flowers.

The entrance was dark, and the hallways were quiet except for the distant machine.

The flames burn red, blue, and yellow; ashes to ashes, I was just a child.

Hurt and pain, fear, and fever. As I drift, I'm calling for Mama.

πŸ’πŸ’πŸ’πŸ’πŸ’

She's sitting there, imagining my suffering, then begins to cry. Oh, Mama.

Above the white clouds, the blue sky turns gray. Where is the sun? Where is the air?

An adult way too young, fractured, and restricted; I never had a chance to be a child.

I stumbled through my life, unable to walk. It was the chance encounters that made me care.

I was scammed. I was misinformed by the enemy fire. I was left to die in the workings of the machine.

On that day, they sent my mother cards with condolences and brought her flowers.

πŸ’πŸ’πŸ’πŸ’πŸ’

What does it mean when they say thoughts and prayers? Yet they kneel and meditate in front of dead flowers.

They prayed that she'd smile when she called out for help. All she could do was cry, my dear Mama.

She looked up to the sky and stepped into the church. Somehow she was sidestepped and captured by the machine.

She couldn't breathe; her lungs were heavy, and she gasped for air.

A loss so grave, she cried all day. She was in denial; she just didn't care.

Her grandest possession; I was her child.

πŸ’πŸ’πŸ’πŸ’πŸ’

She saw me dance upon the clouds. She smiled when I was playing like a child.

She rubbed my hands and kissed my forehead. She felt abandoned when she saw the flowers.

I wanted to somehow let her know that I was still alive in her soul. I wanted to hug her and let her know I cared.

I couldn't breathe; my lungs were empty, and I gasped for air.

My body became lifeless. My soul was flowing freely. No longer trapped by the machine.

πŸ’πŸ’πŸ’πŸ’πŸ’

Slowly, I transcended from one space to the next. I was guided along with the help of the machine.

My mother prepared my body with holy water. She had to announce: "This is my baby, this is my child."

Released from the care of my mother, and I'm breathing again. Feeling strong, being nourished by the air.

Her rosary of love hangs around my neck. Adorned with her spirit, decorated with the petals of the flowers.

Away I float. Away I go. I know it hurts, but don't cry, Mama.

I pay my respects to that little lady. The one who showed me love and taught me how to care.

πŸ’πŸ’πŸ’πŸ’πŸ’

Alone I went up to the sunless sky to meet a galaxy that was waiting to give me tender loving care.

Sweeping me away from fear and protecting me from the machine.

Bringing me peace, teaching me love. Goodbye Mama, goodbye Mama.

My body was broken in my youth. Renewal came with death. Once again I can be a child.

Crossing over to this realm, I am chosen to greet those entering now. I offer beatitudes. I offer flowers.

Hearts of love surround me in multitudes. Standing on clouds. Speaking through the air.

πŸ’πŸ’πŸ’πŸ’πŸ’

For all I know. For all I care. I was always an adult. But now I am a child.

Serenity follows me. Death has come to the machine. Now I am encapsulated by the scent of beautiful flowers.

In this celestial eternity, I embrace the essence of my Mama. It is because of her that I breathe the ethereal air.

πŸ’πŸ’πŸ’πŸ’πŸ’

With love, RHC ❀️

sad poetrysurreal poetryStream of ConsciousnessSestinaperformance poetryinspirationalheartbreakGratitudeFamilyart
48

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing is a distraction to fulfill my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (36)

Sign in to comment
  • Susan FourtanΓ©3 months ago

    It always surprises me when sadness and beauty live in harmony.

  • Dasani Jones3 months ago

    Honey! That is the most beautiful thing I’ve ever read. It was so heartwarming and detailed. Keep it up!πŸ˜‰πŸ˜˜

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    So beautiful, for mommas who are loved, we borrow your ode to your mother. Echoes of a life too soon gone, yet hovering on the brink to ease her pain. So deeply sad and wonderful.

  • Real Poetic3 months ago

    Wow. So well written.

  • I've been searching for this poem because I remembered seeing it made Top Story. But then I couldn't find it on the list. So glad it popped up as I was reading other works. You have a unique cadence when you are writing about certain topics that always lets me know it's you!

  • That was an epic journey. Well done RHC

  • Test4 months ago

    Beautiful Rick these poems you're putting out are really great

  • Martina Marriott4 months ago

    this is very beautiful I enjoy reading this.

  • Irene Economou4 months ago

    Rick, I felt a lot of different emotions reading this. It is a well written piece that shows the depth of your feelings and thoughts.

  • Test4 months ago

    Your dedication shows in your workβ€”keep it going, congratulations!

  • Deep thoughts!

  • Toby Heward4 months ago

    Really pulls at one's heartstrings and brings about the essence that family has in our lives through their love.

  • Cathy Deslippe4 months ago

    Written deep from the heart, Truly inspirational, Congratulations

  • Raymond G. Taylor4 months ago

    Deep, thoughtful and beautifully written. Congrats on the TS

  • C. H. Richard4 months ago

    Very emotional and lovely ❀️ Congratulations on Top Story πŸ’

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! πŸŽ‰πŸ’–πŸŽŠπŸŽ‰πŸ’–πŸŽŠ

  • Melissa Ingoldsby4 months ago

    A very raw and surreal piece that had a very strong emotional resonance. Congratulations on top story !

  • Ward Norcutt4 months ago

    Congratulations on your top story, Rick

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Exquisitely written!!! β€οΈβ€οΈπŸ’• Congratulations on Top Story too!!!

  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    This was so beautiful. We never really grow up. We are always learning and changing. Congratulations Top Story !!!!!

  • JBaz4 months ago

    Rick, this is so different from anything you have written before, the style the wording it is like you let yourself be free. The words chose you not the other way around. Congratulations

  • Oneg In The Arctic4 months ago

    I think you titled this perfectly. They bloom, they wilt, they grow towards the sky and return to the earth. A nice change from your usual works

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    Wow! What a journey of words that was. Very emotional. Well done, RHC.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.