Poets logo

If

Who You Are Matters

By Rick Henry Christopher Published 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 4 min read
26
If
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

These are my ponderings on what ifs.

►►►►►►►►►►

If I were a rich man

I would find the poorest people in the United States (my homeland) and feed them. If some of those being fed were cheating and not really poor, I would still feed them without question because that is a person with a broken soul who needs nourishment and nurturing. I would go further and find the poorest nations in the world and feed them also because the poor in the United States are not the only ones in need.

💖💖💖💖💖

If I could fly

I would soar up so high in the sky, discovering wonders so delightful and enlightening. I would be one with my inner love and peace, finding even what astronauts cannot find. I would find a universal friendship not just within the world I inhabit but spanning galaxies and traveling beyond time.

💖💖💖💖💖

If I were a dog

I would come and cuddle next to you to keep you warm and feel loved and protected. I might even lick your face! 🤪

💖💖💖💖💖

If I were the moon

I would light up the night sky in the minds of those living in terror, depression, or fear so that they may see the beauty and peace that lives within their own minds. That place of amazement exists in all of our minds. That peaceful place unites us across the globe as one. That place in our minds which portrays beautiful landscapes and the miraculous life-giving elements of the ocean.

💖💖💖💖💖

If I were the king

I would bend the rules and give more than I get.

💖💖💖💖💖

If I could be in two places at one time

I would be sleeping and taking care of myself while being awake to take care of you.

💖💖💖💖💖

If I were a car

I would be a handsome 1965 Ford Mustang with its sleek lines and muscular body.

💖💖💖💖💖

If I were money

I would take a bath and redirect myself to accomplish true good in the world instead of lying dormant in the bank accounts of people who have way more money than they will ever use or need. Funds that lie dormant are a waste.

💖💖💖💖💖

If I were a painting

I'd be a beautiful portrait of my mother. She is a true inspiration to me. She was raised in a dirt-poor family, working at age twelve in the fields picking cotton, potatoes, and onions to help her family of five girls and her parents survive. She dug her way out of extreme poverty to become a successful electronics engineer and then a successful businesswoman. Most importantly, she never forgot her roots. She always had an eye on the homeless, a loving eye, not an eye of scorn. She would give them clothes and food and did a lot of volunteer work throughout the decades. As she has gotten older, this delightful, good-hearted lady now experiences struggle, pain, and sadness. She has gone completely blind, lives with major depressive disorder, and is in the throes of the brutal grip of dementia. Through these struggles, this beautiful 4’ 11” eighty-seven-year-old lady finds the means to survive and ways to do what she does best, which is simply to give love to those in need.

💖💖💖💖💖

If I were to go insane

I'd probably be a happier person. At the very least, I would probably do a lot more laughing and making silly noises while licking my nose and making goo-goo eyes! 😜

💖💖💖💖💖

If I were the President

I would be a servant and a follower to lead with compassion. I would open my heart to the world and say, “I love you.”

💖💖💖💖💖

If I were a good man

I would be me and I would sincerely live everything I just wrote about.

💖💖💖💖💖

If you wish to answer my If questions here are the questions. You can copy and paste into your Vocal creator field to publish. If you do this please leave a URL in the comments so I can read yours.

If I were a rich man (woman or person)

If I could fly

If I were a dog

If I were the moon

If I were the king (queen or ruler)

If I could be at two places at one time

If I were a car

If I was money

If I were a painting

If I were to go insane

If I were the President

If I were a good man (woman, person)

►►►►►►►►►►

This writing was inspired by the Pink Floyd song called "If" which is featured on their album from 1970 called Atom Heart Mother.

With Love, RHC ❤️

💖💖💖💖💖

social commentarysurreal poetryStream of Consciousnessperformance poetrynature poetryinspirationalhumorGratitudeFriendshipFree VerseFor FunFamilyart
26

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing is a distraction to fulfill my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (24)

Sign in to comment
  • Kristen Balyeat4 months ago

    I love your answers! You have a beautiful heart, Rick!

  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    Wunderbar! 😁😊👏

  • A marvelous set of answers.

  • Chloe Gilholy4 months ago

    This was brilliant. If you were a dog, I'd be happy to have you as a pet.

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    Another smashing idea, I look forward to doing this 😀

  • You are really outdoing yourself with these prompts. I've really enjoyed reading them along with others.

  • You are really outdoing yourself with these prompts. I've really enjoyed reading them along with others.

  • Tommy Ballard4 months ago

    I had a fun lighthearted go at mine after seeing Celia's in my feed. I didn't feel like getting heavy on this one but instead just having some fun with the answers, haha. Interesting prompts Rick, my attempt is below. https://vocal.media/poets/if-md2y20esa

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    This was a lovely read, Rick. Very you and very honest. Another great prompt that I feel I am going to have to take part in now...damn it. lol. We will see what I produce haha. When I do, I'll drop a link here though!

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    If I do this...I will let you know... 😉

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    Another wonderful thought from the great mind of the Master, Rick. I shall take this one on too, self interview was great. I love your answers. Hugs to you and mother.

  • Awww, this were such wonderful answers and it made me smile! Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Thanks for the ton offun I had responding to your list of IFs! https://vocal.media/humor/if-i-answer-rick-s-list-of-if-s

  • This great Speculative writing... What If? I LOVE it! "If I were a rich man.." (reminds me of the old movie, "Fiddler On the Roof")... you expressed worthy sentiments. What if... the Western nations of the world practised the biblical 'Year of Jubilee" & forgave 'Third World' debt... amazing! Tempted to try to answer your questions...

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    I love how you love your mother! What an incredible mother, too!

  • R.C. Taylor4 months ago

    A fun read! :)

  • k eleanor4 months ago

    Couldn't help but smile at the 'If I were a dog' part😂😂 Beautifully crafted😂❤

  • Oneg In The Arctic4 months ago

    Loved the part about if you were money you’d take a bath! At first I was like “huh?” And then I laughed Nice job

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    Excellent read! It’s very therapeutic to break things down to the big what “ifs” The ‘if I were a dog part’ 😅

  • Rene Peters4 months ago

    This is beautiful! I wish there were more people like you.

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Impressive & inspirational!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Test4 months ago

    This is so lovely Rick, I love you painting answer. Your love for your mum is truly beautiful. A truly heartwarming piece to take us into the new year. Thank you 🤍

  • Tiffany Gordon 4 months ago

    ❤❤❤❤ We need more folks like you in this world Cousin! :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.