Poets logo

Flicker

A poem

By Jasmine AguilarPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
5
Flicker
Photo by Jayesh Patil on Unsplash

The wavering flick of the candle flame invites me to sit alongside it.

Its ambiance draws me in like a trusted friend

The flame-burning colors of orange, yellow, and blue

mesmerizing, almost hypnotic

Subtle woodsy notes of cedar and sandalwood

Allure my sense of smell

Transporting me to another realm

The scents enveloping me in a warm comforting embrace

I am drawn to the candle flame

Blissful silence has joined in as well

The stillness of the room, the aura of the flame

Persuades me to be still as well and reflect

Shadows dance along the wall directed by the candle flame

The flame compliments the darkness that surrounds me

Making it not fearful but as mesmerizing as the flame itself

I blow out the flame and let the darkness accompany me now

nature poetryinspirational
5

About the Creator

Jasmine Aguilar

Fascinated by pop culture and its effect on society... movies, music, books.. and pretty much anything.

I love writing and write a little bit of everything including a science fiction WIP!

https://www.buymeacoffee.com/J.A.Rose

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Ibrahim Issah 8 months ago

    Yh

  • Poppy 10 months ago

    I love how you included the scences and made me feel like I was there. Well done

  • This was so deep and mesmerising! Awesome poem!

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Powerful and inspirational!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.