Poets logo

Fleeting Poems #3

Poems from the soul

By Melvin BektasPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Fleeting Poems #3
Photo by Marcus Dall Col on Unsplash

Jealousy-

You drive me into a darkened state

That craving to need something

That urge to do anything to have it

It pulls me to do dark things

Why do you always do this to me

I long to be content

I long to be at peace

I search for a cure

I take anything and everything to not feel you

But still you turn me green

And turn my world upside down

You make me lose it all

Rid yourself of me

So that I may finally move on

Power-

The itch

The high without the drug

The feeling of force

It’s addicting

No need to coerce

They will always listen

Like pawns in a game of chess

Being told what to do

The brightest are the first to lose their light

Always succumbing to a cry for help

That’s when they see the truth

That dark will always win

The brightest turn the hardest

And in turn are rewarded with highest role

In the wicked game of the world

Air-

The current washes over me with every beat

Slowly filling my lungs to a blissful sleep

I fight the urge to slip away

Only to be met with a greater force everyday

I wait for the day where I may finally be lifted

Without you I am no longer gifted

I am sinking into the abyss

All the while knowing that I will not be missed

I am summoned to the water

I beg, plead, and barter

I pray you keep me safe

As I traverse along this unknown place

Surround me with love and care

Fill me with your peaceful air

Forbidden Fruit-

There is meaning in you

Layered goodness with every glance

You pierce my soul at every chance

I look to the heavens

I look for reprieve

Without you near

I fear that I may die

Your scent drives me into a frenzied state

The sweetness I long to taste

Will surely seal my fate

Creator do not shun me

For I fear your wrath with mercy

I shall long for the taste

Of the fruit

That shall long last lead me to grace

Soul-

The unexplained chill

The sensation of being lifted by music

Proof of something beyond the existence of now

Used for both good and evil

Careful how it comes

In the end you get bliss

You could also be burned

But fear not

Salvation is always attainable

Atonement brings renewable light

Strengthened by love

Broken by sorrow

Keep your hope

And remain human

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Melvin Bektas

I don’t have a generic phrase to catch you to my profile. I like to write to access parts of me I didn’t know I had. Let me know what you think and I will do the same. May your lives be filled with peace, love, happiness, and health.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.