Poets logo

Five Forty Five

Ever had a circle with ends that meet in the middle?

By Brenton FPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
3

i got a five dollar bill as a book mark

the place i work at paid for my boots

it's not like i have many more fucks to give

no fucks, no hollers, no hoots

i care about my immediate family

but outside my inner circle all bets are off

charity begins at home my friend

don’t laugh; its true, don't scoff

i don't care for very much at all

not here, not now, not anyway

and i will probably carry on like this

right up until my dying day

//

my nanna lived until she was ninety five

she loved ciggies and beer in a cup

my mother told me it’s a familial female trait

and that i shouldn't get my hopes up

i don't know who my father was

and with that i am way beyond caring

he abandoned us both before i was born

and now maybe i’m just oversharing

his place was eventually taken

by another lover that my mother took

she ruined that in a fit of pique one night

so our relationship, it never quite took

we buried him a few years ago now

the cancer just ate him away

he never let me get to know who he was

and i still don't to this very day

//

i was supposed to be asleep by now

in the grip of prescribed sleeping pills

so easy to fight; yet a buzzed sleepless tonight

and there lays the heart of my ills

i think about turning the tele on

but that would just add to my awake

so i lie here stiff and unflinching

waiting for the sleep just to take

i'm aware that i'm mumbling and rambling

and making sense just to myself

but this way i bring myself down

and keep on top of my mental health

the light of bedside lamp interferes

as I tap tap tap away on my phone

i think i prefer to be by myself

not lonely, but simply alone

social commentarysad poetry
3

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Stevi-Lee Alverabout a year ago

    Poignant. So Australian. Love it

  • Rowan Finley about a year ago

    I very much appreciate how raw this is, very personal and it sheds light on how we as humans relate to our families.

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    I once found half a five-dollar bill in a book I bought from a used bookshop. It did not lead to such an interesting narrative, but I did think of that moment as I read this.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.