Poets logo

Fishing With the Captain

My son's first big fishing trip

By Rachel IsomPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Captain Blackshaw and Logan -summer 2020-

If you live on an island, no matter what the season, Fishing and boating go hand in hand. And in the summer there is always an easy reason. So I asked my friend to take us out and he definitely could understand How important memories like these are to a young boy. Hoping he would catch something other than a sunburn. Knowing this would be better than the most expensive toy. This mothers heart is full of gratitude for all the knowledge my son would learn.

You see his father and I finally decided to end the years of fighting. My children's well being is most important to me. I'm hoping that the fish will be biting! Even if we only catch the breeze, it's really just the smiles I want to see.

The Captain was patient and Logan listened to everything he said. Logan had the focus of a man on that sunny summer day. It broke my heart because we both knew his father should be teaching him instead. His father should have done so much more for Logan in so many other ways. So when the line went tight and the pole was bent he did what Captain had instructed. He reeled the fish up from the depths of the ocean. There was excitement and anticipation that could not be destructed The fight was over and with one swift motion

Logan got his fish! And Captain couldn't contain the joy. In that moment he realized how important he was to that young boy. This summer memory is definitely one that will always be remembered, There that day a bond was forever rendered.

Rachel Isom

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Rachel Isom

Follow my journey of the discovery of my true self. I'm a highly sensitive person that uses poetry to work thru emotions and life.

www.facebook.com/rachel.isom.daisy

@rachel_isom

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.