Poets logo

Fishhook

A bitter sweet letter for the one I love.

By Heidi GowthorpePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2

When I saw you Lately, My heavy heart did overflow.

It swelled up to meet my rib cage, And it screamed to be let go.

In reply I felt a tiny pin prick, as a silver fish hook shining,

Punctured chest and lung and brittle bone.

It came to find its resting place in warm metallic red,

on the left side of my breast, in my heart and Spinning head.

There it wound its wire so tightly, that it stole away my breath.

Left me gasping in the moonlight for the sweet poetic bliss of death.

For a time it made a nest there, As my moth like heart it beat for air.

A fluttering suffocation, a caress planted there with care.

Over night it tightened with a strangling grip, as softly we both slept.

Till one morning, With a tender tug, A coaxing gentle kiss.

It hooked itself a heartbeat from its hollow place of rest,

and my heart it found a new home beneath your warm and beating chest.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Heidi Gowthorpe

Poet, musician, writer and Lyricist based in the UK.

Sharing little snippets of my secret soul, page by page.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.