Poets logo

Fish Sauce

An unfamiliar taste leads to an exploration of identity.

By Rachel ThomPublished 3 years ago 1 min read

It was brown, and it stank.

Those dark, glossy drops,

Fermented and dank.

But later, that resin

Was contrary, delicious.

Gut-rumbling, lip-wetting.

Now, I’m surprised

That while cravings can’t lie, they said:

My tongue has been compromised.

Fish sauce became hunger, satiated.

Taste was the confusion

Between homesickness and happiness

For a conflicted non-native,

Here, in a place

Where all was inverted.

If we are the sums of our own convictions,

Where is space

For challenge and flexion?

I chew my food.

But until bitten, I'm the product

Of what I'd assumed.

Could I, at last, come to thank

That dark fish sauce,

Fermented and dank?

social commentary

About the Creator

Rachel Thom

I don't always loiter around South-East London. I've spent a lot of time cycle-touring in and through many countries, including Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam, India, Australia, New Zealand, Myanmar, France, Portugal, and the US.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Rachel ThomWritten by Rachel Thom

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.