Poets logo

First sight of you -- it had to be love

A poem

By Irina PattersonPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
4
Image credit: https://pixabay.com/photos/bar-lounge-cocktail-alcohol-glass-498420/

The trust unfolds its tender petals in odd, unexpected places.

The clear sky is naturally blissful -- like your eyes are.

Your deep blue eyes.

They caught me across the room in that tropical bodega.

You were handsome -- high cheekbones, white t-shirt -- laughing with the bartender at the bar.

You looked like a leading man from a foreign movie. I was enthralled.

Your blue eyes were like a bird of prey, yet very kind.

They teased across my face, down my body, with a sense of utmost importance.

Your eyes on me were like a siren's song --

I might have wanted to resist the allure of your gaze, but I could not.

I simply stumbled into your eyes - deep, deeper, and deeper still.

My need to know you sent me scurrying across the room like a schoolgirl with her secret crush.

I came closer, took a deep breath, and sat down next to you.

You smelled of cologne and cigarettes.

"What is your name?" You asked, smiling as if you already knew it.

"Madeline," I whispered, my heart beating wildly.

You smiled a little wider and held out your hand, "Alex." Your voice was low, seductive.

My hand rested in yours like an infant settling down to sleep.

Your eyes glowed at me as if they were twin candles lit against the sunset. I felt naked under your gaze, yet safe enough to let my own linger over you.

I felt we were tied together by such strong cords, as if we had been entwined in dreams, deep within a dark forest of pleasure where we become lost in one another.

There was no going back from the first time our eyes met, from the first exchange of knowing glances.

From then on, we became connected by something primal and sacred that could not be broken or denied -- was that love?

. . .

© by Irina Patterson, February 22, 2022

Thank you for reading, my other stories are here.

Love, Irina

performance poetry
4

About the Creator

Irina Patterson

M.D by education -- entertainer by trade. I try to entertain when I talk about anything serious. Consider subscribing to my stuff, I promise never to bore you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.