Poets logo

First Impressions

Second Chances

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
First Impressions
Photo by Vadim Bogulov on Unsplash

Let me introduce myself

Said the spider to the fly

Sitting out of sight, upon the shelf

*

Speaking softly, like some little elf

With a twinkle in his eye

Let me introduce myself

*

I’d prefer you keep it to yourself

That I wish that I could fly, but I’m

Sitting out of sight, upon the shelf

*

Lurking in the shadows, alone, at a half past twelve

Smiling slyly, as the moon shone in the sky

Let me introduce myself

*

Imagine, if you will, that I’m only here to help

Waiting for you, as you happen by

Sitting out of sight, upon the shelf

*

How differently you’d view me, if I looked like something else

But I don’t and I will sit alone and cry

Let me to introduce myself

Sitting out of sight, upon the shelf

VillanelleheartbreakFriendshipFor Funfact or fiction

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock6 months ago

    A spider who introduces themselves is not the one with whom the fly should be concerned. It's the one that remains unseen until you find yourself in a sticky situation. Love the poem.

  • Mark Graham6 months ago

    Quite the read.

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    This is wonderful. Great job on the villanelle. Just take a look at the 4th tercet. "Let me to introduce myself." You've got a "to" in there. Same for the last verse.

  • Joe Patterson6 months ago

    Just wow!!!

  • Lol, fly away fly, don't fall for the spiders sticky lie! Loved your poem!

Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenWritten by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.