Poets logo

First and foremost, I am a mother

My forever job title.

By Violet RoPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
First and foremost, I am a mother
Photo by Phil Hearing on Unsplash

I am an early childhood educator, I teach toddlers. I am learning American Sign Language as my second language. I love reading fiction novels and laying in the sun. I am a cat person with a soft spot for large dogs.

I am lot of things, but first and foremost, I am a mother.

My daughter is six and a half months. It feels equally like an eternity and a minute that I've known my bundle of love. It is the most challenging and rewarding job I have ever had.

I am exhausted. My 2 and a half month old would have slept all day if I had let her, my now half-a-year-old doesn't like sleeping more than 3 hours in her crib. I am barely a person some days, surviving on caffeine and willpower alone.

I love my sleep, but I am a mother, and you can't be mad at a baby for wanting midnight snuggles.

I miss shopping. These days I don't even go into the gas station if I can avoid it at all. Taking the carseat out of the base, navigating the too-small aisles with it awkwardly balanced on my arm... More trouble than its worth for a candy bar and a bottle of pop.

It may seem like a lot to miss. A lot of things I am sad about, a lot of things that are harder. But through all of the challenges, I have never felt more purpose in my life.

Theres a whole little human who thinks I'm the best, I can feed her from my body, from my breast. She needs me, she loves me, and I need her too. She is the life of the party, she brightens every room.

I am a daughter, a friend. I'm a girlfriend and a partner. But first and foremost, I am a mother. And its the proudest title I have.

love poems

About the Creator

Violet Ro

I enjoy writing about my own experiences and also enjoy experimenting with stepping out of my realm.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Violet RoWritten by Violet Ro

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.