Poets logo

Fireworks

Watching the fireworks

By Tanner PeifferPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I feel a hint of citrus soaking into the skin on my hand

As sugar droplets melt despite the coolness on the sand,

Though not by taste the popsicle becomes a part of me

Just past my dreamy point of view in warm periphery-

***

My mind is drawn to festive bursts of fire in the sky

Reflecting on the gentle waves and sparkling in my eye;

Explosions rock the atmosphere with flashbacks to the end

Only to recolor vistas beautiful again

***

With color combinations that I’ve never seen before,

I let the light wash over me with simple hope for more

Chromatic exploration in the cloud tops evermore;

Gunpowder lights intensity in peacetime and in war

art
Like

About the Creator

Tanner Peiffer

I'm an aspiring poet, writing from both personal experiences and surreal concepts, with the goal of inspiring anyone who may read. I hope my art can strike a chord and shift a perspective or two. 20 years old.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.