Poets logo

Firestarters

Hot Things We Did as Legal Arsonists

By The Dani WriterPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
9
Photo by Iury Bessa on Pexels

The flame flickers…fades

and my fury knows no bounds

You ignite me with

‘Try-it-you’ll-like-it’ encouragement

set irreversible combustion as a baseline

then unleash my compulsion for warmth

Up close and personal possibilities

sizzle against seared skin

Government guidance to stay indoors

ignored

cuz eons eclipsed tender truths between us

I smile as I sweat

burn embers to bursting

steamed succulence on the half shell

almost singe my tongue

against spicy subdivisions which — shhhh

— taunt for highest ever kilojoule dares

Surrender comes easy

A juicy hotspot

Nascent-knowledge-all-nighters

Minds melt

bodies ablaze

Can’t sit still shifting paradigms

Circling stars us

we shine brilliance over a world

on the cusp of chemical reaction

in a constant state of yearning

Oooh

satisfaction sparks spilled

from night-dark loins…

A sensuous blink like countless befores

then

I find no trace of you

Repatriated realms

just

like

that

No warning

No note

No flammable residue

Clothes still in closet

calls straight to voicemail

and my cries…

my cries are cords I bind to balance pressure

of how inconsolable I feel inside

Everything incendiary

as I’m drawn to random smoke on reflex

a walking-talking inferno invocation

still searching

sifting charred remains

for any ‘you-traces’

amongst ashes

Photo by Volker Loschek on Pexels

I really appreciate that you read my poem! If you'd like to see more of my work, please check here.

If you enjoyed this or any of my other stories, feel free to like, subscribe, tip, pledge, and/or share with friends and social media sites. If you wish to promote in other forums, you can secure permission @thedaniwriter

***

Originally published on Medium

performance poetrysad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
9

About the Creator

The Dani Writer

Explores words to create worlds with poetry, nonfiction, and fiction. Writes content that permeates then revises and edits the heck out of it. Interests: Freelance, consultations, networking, rulebook-ripping. UK-based

Medium

FB

Twitter

Insta

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran12 months ago

    That was so heart-wrenching! Yet so beautifully written! I loved it so much!

  • Caroline Jane12 months ago

    Cannot believe I was not subscribed! Missed seeing your stuff. This was HOT 🔥 Wonderful words as ever!

  • Leslie Writes12 months ago

    Oh wow! So sexy. So passionate. 👏

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    This is absolutely beautiful. Well done, as always.

  • I envy your talent, Dani, your passion, 'til I arrive at the embers & realize I'm already there, searching for something just as you do. Highly evocative, sensual, satisfying, & lost. Beautifully expressed.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.