Poets logo

Finished Nightmare

Life's Lunar Lesson

By Andrew BellPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

The last night of the full moon

Peaceful sleep was only one night away

The sleeping pills no longer had any effect

Only time put her lunar powers at bay

Somehow tonight felt different

The dozing quickly became rest

I woke ready to take on the day

Only I was in my Sunday best

I knew something was amiss

My congregation was normally dressed casual

I was surrounded by friends and family

However an unsettling fear was gripping and actual

My favorite song played, slightly eased my mind

I was singing when the pastor appeared

He said "I know that it's nearing lunch time

I greatly appreciate you still being here

Today is a special Sunday

It swells my heart with joy to know

There is a young couple here today

Which my wife and I had the chance in Christ to help them grow

He ushered the two on stage

Within seconds I instantly knew

I was living the last chapter of my nightmare

This painful, gut wrenching DejaVu

He got down on one knee

It came as no surprise

I recited his own vows with him

As I bowed my head and closed my eyes

The vows were finally over

Yet my heart was intensely beating

I had lived dreamt of this exact moment over and over

I still had not an inkling of its meaning

I looked up as the congregation cheered

Her answer was yes, I didn't hear it but I was certain

This is around the time I would awaken

The nightmare play would close its ugly curtain

Surprisingly that wasn't what happened

There was no relief for me

Like watching a show you finally have time for

I'll be witnessing this finale

Tears in their eyes as they looked out

Through her crying, our eyes locked

My heart stopped, a mental weight dropped

He followed her gaze to mine and was in utter shock

A wave of extraordinary peace was upon me

I was able to smile while leaving that place

My mental had been refreshed and I woke up well rested

The passing moon phase cleared my head space

inspirationalart
1

About the Creator

Andrew Bell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.