Poets logo

Finding the Soul

Tonight, my soul is like a piece of paper

By Wimble HuhmanPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Finding the Soul
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Tonight, my soul was like a piece of paper

dropped in the brightly lit street and lost.

I saw many soul peddlers standing by the roadside and

I am sure they were the ones who picked it up.

Immediately my situation was different from the usual trouble.

Because of my grief and remorse, I

I was unable to retrieve it myself because I had also lost it

A lost person cannot search for his lost property, for

Otherwise, they might be lost together from then on.

It was only at this point that I discovered

that the soul is my own, that we are so inseparable

Like a bolt and its nut.

But because of this, the more I tried

the less I could convince others that I had indeed lost my soul.

because it seemed to all that

I and my soul were still together.

I had to forget the logic of this collapse and leave the crowd.

Because of my slow gait, I met a hard-working snail.

I immediately inquired about it, because I was told that

"A snail does not become a slug, even if it loses its shell.

unless it doesn't care about whether it has a shell or not."

And this is very similar to my lost soul.

Even though the shell can't even resist itself

Even though the shell couldn't even resist its jump, neither of us wanted to throw it away.

I continued my search along the street and sat in a restaurant.

Because the soul is cooked food, easily expired

So once it is opened and has seen the wind

It must be eaten before the marked date.

This night, without much effort, I

I recovered something unusually heavy.

But my soul was still lost.

My heart was very, very heavy, and

But if anyone has seen a thing

heavier than its weight, please be sure to tell me.

Because that's my soul.

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Wimble Huhman

Where there is soil, where there is water, grass grows

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Wimble HuhmanWritten by Wimble Huhman

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.