Poets logo

Finding the Cause

Constant Over Analysis

By Tyler DelmottePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Finding the Cause
Photo by Matthew Henry on Unsplash

Over analyzing it brings about more pain.

What purpose does asking “why” serve?

Questions of this nature rarely bring satisfactory answers.

The damage is done,

pain inflicted upon me.

Questioning the reason it happened will only serve to pain me further.

Yet I still desire the answer to the question “why”.

Can over analysis truly grant me the answers I seek?

A glutton for punishment,

I go down the path of insanity.

Hour after painstaking hour, spent pondering the reasons for my pain.

Shall I continue searching, foregoing the possibility of failure?

Need for answers grows,

as does the longing.

Sleepless nights continue as the brain calculates, every scenario.

Did I deserve the hurt? Was it my fault there was any hurt to begin with? Was it theirs?

Looking too deeply,

the mind begins to ache.

Questioning myself as to “why” it happened is useless.

If I knew, then there’d be no use in questioning.

To question the inflictor of such pain, would grant me answers.

Failing to risk more pain,

self-analysis continues.

Through the constant racing of my mind, I try to find peace.

To no avail, the self-loathing can’t help but riddle my soul.

My heart palpitating as I over analyze the causes of my pain.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Tyler Delmotte

Here to post my thoughts, short stories/excerpts from screenplays and poetry.

I'm also part of a podcast:

--https://soundcloud.com/aswedigress

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.