Poets logo

Finding Happiness

Following the Path Through Heartache

By Miranda MerrittPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

"I do not want to find my happiness because you stay."
She said.

"I want to find it in the empty crevasses you left behind when you have gone away.
I want to build beds of flowers and grow them tall.
I want to mend those broken peices into a garden wall.
With pine trees that sweep across the sky,
And furry creatures running by."
She closes her eyes, and said,
"I want to take the pain of your departure,
And create a world that is much larger."

"Take those storm clouds from this disaster.
Sweep them away, because I am their master.
I paint billowing clouds across the horizon--
Add pinks, and blues, for our eyes to get lost in.
I want to make rolling hills that stretch for a mile.
I want to grow vines that stretch and spiral.
With a garden path for me to walk on,
And maybe a bench for resting when the work is done."

"I do not want emptiness to be all there is."
She said.
"I want to find my home in the darkend places you once existed in.
I want to sweep away those harshest of memories.
I want to create and paint more happier realities.
With slow burning love in every season,
And to dance freely without rhyme or reason.
With her eyes still closed. She twirled around and said,
"I want to take this swelling anguishe I feel inside
And design a wooded dell an acre wide."

"That fits all the tears I cried so sorrowfully.
Turn them into a pool surrounded by luscious, lively greenery.
I will plant herbs that heal and fruits so sweet--
A little sanctuary, our own retreat.
I want to fill this place with the softest of beds.
I want a home where we could have rested our tired heads.
With beds of flowers, and a garden wall,
And maybe in those filled up spaces, happiness would find me after all."

She said, "I just do not want there to be nothing at all."

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Miranda Merritt

I write poems and, sometimes, longer short stories. My inspiration comes from my feelings. I take into account what I am trying to express and then do my best to express those feelings through words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.