Poets logo

Finally Unplugged

Did anyone hear the collective sigh of relief?

By EyekayPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Finally Unplugged
Photo by Greg Bulla on Unsplash

I am that youngster born and raised in a glass bowl. I stand on the edge not wanting to plunge into social media. I am no freak for being real.

It really surprised me when my over-sharing peers experienced no outrage with the major social media outage. I hope that sound I heard in that brief moment was a collective sigh of relief.

Here's my poem dedicated to authenticity. Read only if you're not too busy sculpting yourselves now that spotlight is back to chase.

Plug-ins

Approval is such a beast

to be sought like a feast.

If forces one to press the button

to feed the validation glutton.

Yeah, yeah,

I know this story.

everything's transitory.

I could never learn

to wean off data churn

Her life is better than mine

My girlfriend's better than thine.

Oh, the places they all go,

the things they all just know.

Compare and contrast

show off full on blast

While she swans and swishes

in a world of fulfilled wishes.

Her life must be blighted

for she wasn't invited.

He must be a nobody

in this world so gaudy

No one will care

because he does not share.

I will not

Hashtag my food

Hashtag my mood

Hashtag location

Hashtag communication.

A dereliction of duty.

I couldn't create beauty.

Everyone's in there

Everyone has to care.

We're all the same

as we play the game.

There's always that fear

of putting distance in the near.

Their judgment you'll hear

even if you make it clear.

But where was the outrage

with the major outage?

Could it be a blessing?

A balm for malady pressing.

A collective grateful cry

followed by soothing sigh.

Hashtag facebookdown

Hashtag instagramdown

Hashtag Whatsappdown

Life is on upswing

mood uplifting.

It can only yield

a level playing field.

The loudest voices go mute

for what is there to toot?

interests begin to divest

as the world takes its rest.

By Zdeněk Macháček on Unsplash

By Sreenivas on Unsplash

You projected scarlet macaw,

judging yourself oh-so- blah.

For a moment so brief

it felt such a relief

Sparrow, did you feel it too,

when you felt just like you?

#socialmediaoutage #nadaoutrage

Hold on to that pause

Revel in all the flaws.

They are mine, they are me

I reclaim authenticity.

I summon in the plug-ins

out from the trash bins.

I wish to like and share

just cause I truly care.

Giving me my thumbs-up

I ask, "Girlfriend, Whats-up?"

I look in the mirror

to "LIKE" the one who's me

I look at life sans terror

to "LOVE" what I just see.

............................................

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Eyekay

I write because I must. I believe each one of us has the ability to propel humanity forward.

And yes, especially in these moments, Schadenfreude must not rule the web.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.