Poets logo

Film Noir

Waiting

By Leslie McGuirePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Film Noir
Photo by Andréas BRUN on Unsplash

I recognized the place.

Not the look, so much, but the richness of Your grace.

Yes, I’d been here before,

But it was brighter and lighter and just more.

I stood here, and You stood there,

I waited and waited to follow somewhere.

You drug Your feet, in my opinion,

So I left without You and marched on, resisting submission.

You watched me and carried me and taught,

All the while, I think I just fought and fought.

You brought me back to the beginning,

I stood there, again, as You looked at me, grinning.

It was so dark and foggy, with one single light;

I wondered, is it always night?

I recognized the place,

This time, it appeared clearer and better suited to my taste.

Suddenly, I could hear something stirring

In the far-off distance, whirring

Was it coming closer to our place?

I was becoming anxious standing in this space.

I pled with You, urgency in my eyes

And You gazed back at me with nothing to disguise

You were in no hurry; that was abundantly clear

And I did not understand how You could not hear

Something was coming; I knew it to be true

Here we were standing, exposed in the hue

What was running toward us?

Making quite a fuss?

As it rounded the corner chaotically,

It affected me hypnotically

And then, there he was standing

Across from me, demanding

Is this who we’ve been waiting for?

I turned to You and implored

Is he not whom I described?

The one for which you’ve cried?

But I could not comprehend

How all my woes were on the mend

Standing in the streetlight

Holding the hand of my knight.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Leslie McGuire

TheHobbit doing life outside the stillness of the Shire with TheGiant and TheHuckleberry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.