Poets logo

Fight to the Death

Pyrrhic Victory

By Gerard DiLeoPublished 22 days ago Updated 9 days ago 1 min read
R. I. P., Phobos and Deimos

Here I stand, stranger in the distance

There you stand, my stranger, a'wond'rin'

I seek to know, seek assistance

From whence I came? Your stranger, a'sund'rin'?

.

Existentially feared, history stolen

It was final, when, what-it-is became what-it-was

Your bombs on me, blistery, inclemently fallen

Fiend! Your bombs, on me, was the way, what t'was

.

I seek to know, betwixt us, who really won

I seek from you, transfixed, the very same

Whose bombs of both, fell last, till nearly none

Whose bombs, at last, when Kingdom came

.

Your bombs were, coverty, launched first

Nay, I heard it reversely occurred

We fought back honorably, so coerced

We fought indomitably when, first, you erred

.

The final blows, predictors

Of the winners of the war we waged

Who's left last, standing, the victors

Of a world that's left, so razed

.

Nothing-left, strangely, posthumously unites us

We must, insanely, agree on that

We can agree, inanely, there's nothing, thus...

We're reduced to one-and-the-same--begat

.

You're one of us, half the world, now

You're one of us, the other half, too

I look for me, a brother, in thou

When I question your brotherhood as true

.

Not finished, you and I, perhaps

We retreat, some, to our respective sides, unprotected

Each eyes, we, the dregs and the scraps

While perceived cheats become our guides misdirected

.

I confront you, gravely demanding

Whilst, I, regather to beat my people's blow

And I, too, ward off, bravely withstanding

You'll see me affix your defeat in tow

.

When just one's left, standing defiant

Against the one, on the other side, mirrored

The cracked glass won't resilver the giant

Reflections are equally reversed, but feared

.

Let this eleventh hour decide our war

Two left stanzing, but only one, so written, returns

We each have left only fists and teeth and core

We each want to win, to rule a world--so smitten--that burns

.

My tears of war and honor flow prolific

Till my own war dries my eyes in the dust

The spoils are Pyrrhic, terrific, and acidic

Our worlds, Mars has buried, under chariot rust

social commentary

About the Creator

Gerard DiLeo

Retired, not tired. In Life Phase II: Living and writing from a decommissioned church in Hull, MA. (Phase I was New Orleans and everything that entails. Hippocampus, behave!

https://www.amazon.com/Gerard-DiLeo/e/B00JE6LL2W/

[email protected]

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Michelle Liew16 days ago

    Are you a Wilfred Owen fan? This does War Poetry so much justice. Well said, Gerard.

  • Well-wrought! "War! What is it good for? Absolutely nothing!"

  • angela hepworth22 days ago

    Awesome, high action poetry! Super unique and passionate!

  • Whoaaaa, this blew my mind! Loved your poem!

  • John Cox22 days ago

    Part time physicist, sometime scientist, full-time philosopher, always human. I loved the dialectic of your poem. I hope this is for the challenge. Very, very impressive.

Gerard DiLeoWritten by Gerard DiLeo

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.