Poets logo

Fig Tree

A poem in memory of my father

By Karen KamenetskyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Fig Tree
Photo by Jametlene Reskp on Unsplash

Fragrant ginger rises on curls of steam

from a cradled mug, warm against my palm,

and a soft wool afghan

caresses my shoulders

like the shadow of a warm embrace.

Flames play hide and seek with logs on the hearth,

they crackle, then snap,

and I turn to the doorway,

drawn by a sound that might be your footstep

but isn’t.

You are gone.

May his memory be a blessing, they say,

but your smiling face in the frame on the mantle

is small consolation.

My comfort is in the butterfly bush I dug out of your garden,

now flourishing in my front yard,

and the cutting I took from your fig tree,

tucked in its pot on the windowsill

sprouting new leaves.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Karen Kamenetsky

I've published stories in Highlights and other children's magazines. I've written songs that play on Sirius XM Radio. I'm currently looking to publish my first novel, a cozy mystery with embedded links to recordings of five original songs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.