Poets logo

Fields of Afghanistan

“Villanelle”

By Corey W HarlandPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2023
15
Photo by Corey Harland

Fields of Afghanistan

I know how to follow another’s plan

looking for mines through the vines

walking through the fields of Afghanistan

Photo by Richard Pieniakowski #richiecamerahands

I made it back to my fam’

A hollow shell is what came back

I never gave up on my plan

Photo by Richard Pieniakowski #richiecamerahands

Playing call of duty with my clan

If only they could see me

I barely made it back from Afghanistan

Photo by Richard Pieniakowski #richiecamerahands

Kept on pushing that’s who I am

I gave up everything

Nothing went according to plan

Photo by Richard Pieniakowski #richiecamerahands

Still fighting to be all I can

Always dreaming, sometimes screaming

making my way back from Afghanistan

I found another for this man

because they see me for who I am

Writing poetry that’s my plan

Now that I’m back from Afghanistan

-CWH-

inspirational
15

About the Creator

Corey W Harland

Retired soldier, writing as a therapy, hobby, and as a dream career as I go. I hope to fill this page with poetry, photographs, and stories that will inspire all who read to embrace their own beauty and let their own lights shine bright!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • TheSpinstress5 months ago

    Beautiful. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Manisha Dhalani5 months ago

    Congrats on your top story!

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Beautiful piece. Congrats on the TS.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.