Poets logo

Few Memories

To a grandfather

By TestPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Few Memories
Photo by Julia Kadel on Unsplash

You always sat in one of the two armchairs,

facing windows that gave view to the street.

Did you have the Bible on the end table,

between the two seats?

This is one of my few memories of you.

I don't remember visiting you in the hospital.

I don't remember sitting on your knee.

I remember the black and white photo with you in Navy dress.

I remember the cemetery,

surrounded by northeastern trees.

I remember the black granite headstone.

How I wish to place colorful flowers there.

I remember the black coffin,

draped in American red, white, and blue.

These are my other few memories of you.

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Test

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Test is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.