Poets logo

Festering

The exhaustion of women

By Laura LannPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Festering
Photo by Matt Artz on Unsplash

The burden of gender is heavy,

The burden of women is like thick skirts

Wrapped around my ankles

Tugged tightly at my waist.

It's croaking up flower petals

And offering a sweet smile.

An endless to-do, chores that

Smother my energy for passions

Till I coma inside myself alone.

Lazy breaths pull me to sleep

Restless thoughts of everything

Yank me back to wake in night.

It's endless planning and menus,

Cooking, scrubbing cleaning,

Least I get caught slipping.

Least I make stress.

To pass the load is to eat stale bread

And slimey squash, to let the garden waste.

Bitter days on end, medicine that drowns me

In the pressures of a world made to eat

Everything good within me and feed it to men

Who take, take, take and seldom give.

It's climbing a cliff that collapses beneath

My fingers and hands to sand as I slide

Back down in the festering touch of the sun.

Should I think to rest, should I think to wave a flag,

I will surely be faulted. Strung up like the

Laundry I have yet to do.

Left to become a dead husk of corn

And forgotten all the same.

social commentarysad poetryperformance poetry

About the Creator

Laura Lann

I am an author from deep East Texas with a passion for horror and fantasy, often heavily mixed together. In my spare time, when I am not writing, I draw and paint landscape and fantasy pieces. I now reside in Alaska where adventures await.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • rose amy6 months ago

    Great

  • Manisha Dhalani10 months ago

    This made me sigh out loud. So much truth in this one.

  • Sometimes it makes me wonder whether being a woman is a blessing or a curse. Loved your poem!

  • L.C. Schäfer10 months ago

    Powerful stuff ❤

Laura LannWritten by Laura Lann

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.