Poets logo

February

In the Midwest

By CatsidhePublished 3 months ago 1 min read
4
February
Photo by Ali Inay on Unsplash

Alabaster smoothness

Blankets the frozen ground,

Calm facade that belies

Devastating consequences for

Emerging travelers on the road.

Falling wildly, dancing

Giddily, the snowflakes

Hasten their way to earth.

Illusory lights reflect blindingly,

Jubilantly from crystalized trees, branches

Kissing the waiting ground.

Losing control of

My wheels, spinning,

Nosediving into the snow bank.

Offering thanks for safe landings,

Pleading for minimal damage to repair.

Questioning my wisdom in

Relocating from my native

Southern sunshine and heat.

Treading carefully as I make my way

Up to the waiting road,

Vanquishing the slippery slope.

Waving down a passing officer

Xiphoidizing my arm into the air,

Yelling with all my might,

Zealous to return home.

nature poetry
4

About the Creator

Catsidhe

Pronounced Cat-she: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cat-s%C3%ACth

A public figure writing privately

Dark poems and fiction my specialty

Come explore the abyss with me

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock3 months ago

    This brings back memories of delivering newspapers in Watertown, South Dakota in the middle of winter, learning how to navigate both up & back down steep driveways covered in ice. No mean feat for a klutz like me, lol!

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    Best of luck in your move....enjoyed your poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.