Poets logo

My Little Demon

In the Middle of the Night

By CatsidhePublished 3 months ago 1 min read
6
My Little Demon
Photo by Alexandre Debiève on Unsplash

Abyssal eyes that

Bore into my soul and

Call me to

Devote my

Everything to them.

Ferocious teeth that

Gnaw and catch,

Harming fragile skin.

Insidious moans that

Jolt me to my core,

Keening darkly, quietly,

Long into the night.

My fingers tremble,

Nudging inky fur and sinew

Off the narrow bed.

"Please let me sleep,"

Querulously I beg,

Reeling in exhaustion,

Supplication rolling off my

Tongue onto deaf ears.

Under the bed my dear feline crawls,

Voicing his displeasure and grievance.

Wakefulness torments me as the

Xanthic eyes gaze resentfully,

Yowling continuing unabated beyond the

Zenith of the moon.

For Fun
6

About the Creator

Catsidhe

Pronounced Cat-she: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cat-s%C3%ACth

A pseudonym, of course,

To allow for open discourse,

Words channeling my lifeforce

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • E.K. Daniels3 months ago

    Haha this is so relatable for any owner of a fur baby! Well done!

  • Sean Elliott3 months ago

    Brings back memories - my childhood cap used to disturb my sleep almost every night! Great work!

  • Cats. Can't live with them, can't persuade them. (Actually, living with cats is usually a joy.)

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    I relate...have two meows

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.