Poets logo

Feast

by Michèle Nardelli

By Michèle NardelliPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
5
Feast
Photo by Zeynep Sümer on Unsplash

It was never party food,

much too exotic, salty - foreign.

I see now that was probably an allegory.

No piping hot crumpets when I tumbled into the kitchen.

No shortbreads with fresh tea,

No sweeties from the jar.

No, not for me.

A craving instead for bread from a wood oven

torn open with relish.

That yeasty steam, that makes your mouth bubble inside.

But I am patient because that is only part one.

I take the jar from the pantry and crack open the lid.

Dipping in to pluck them out shiny, plump, and black,

a whole handful.

Peeling the flesh from the pit, hands purpling with the task,

I place them carefully in the bread, a black and white vision

from peasant fields.

Olives on crusty bread, the simplest of delights

It transports me through generations,

to hand tilled fields

and dough kneaded on wooden boards.

Gathering sheets, laid out on hard earth,

and strong sticks to beat the branches,

so that the fruit falls like hailstones

to be captured in a family recipe

that needs time to

become,

a feast.

Family
5

About the Creator

Michèle Nardelli

I write...I suppose, because I always have. Once a journalist, then a PR writer, for the first time I am dabbling in the creative. Now at semi-retirement I am still deciding what might be next.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    Olives, yum. I just don't like kalamata ones - why? I don't know! I love bread with butter, yum, yum. I even put butter on pizza crust!! Great poem!

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    My mouth is literally watering.

  • Thanks for your kind words Lacy - ah bread it is a wonder - me and yeast seem to disagree - my attempts at bread have always been disastrous 😳

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler2 months ago

    Oh, Michèle, this is an incredible poem! I have always regretted never mastering baking bread, and your poem is why. Just beautiful!

  • Paul Stewart2 months ago

    My word...this is stunning Michele...absolutely stunning. It looks delightful and I can smell that bread and just imagine that intoxicating smell and taste of the olives. Damn damn, this Scottish Italian man is very much in love with your poem. Fine fine stuff. I would imagine this will be a Top Story in no time and rightly so!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.