Poets logo

Fear To Spread My Wings

Flying Has Become Serendipitous

By teisha lesheaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
17
Fear To Spread My Wings
Photo by Bankim Desai on Unsplash

A part of me still cares about what you think of me.

From the way I look, act, and how goofy I can be

Sometimes I feel uncomfortable being entirely me.

I'm usually reserved and watch from afar.

I never got the memo "Be Comfortable With Who You Are."

The jokes, the giggles, the stops and stares

*

Masking who I am is my comfort place.

I feel content with being the last turtle in the race.

To not be the center of attention.

To worry about how my image forms others' perceptions.

*

I'm close to stepping out and saying, "Come stop and stare."

Bottling up who I am doesn't get me anywhere.

To laugh and not cover up my smile.

To wear what I want confidently and pride.

*

Anxiety is what I feel when my body is in distress.

The phrase "What will they think" becomes the number one priority.

I'm an adult; what do I care about anyone's authority?

Depending on the situation, I don't care.

*

My wings paralyzed

My wings are stiff

The use it or lose it mentality hoovers over my head thick and robust.

If I don't fly, my wings will become weak and lack the muscle memory it takes to spread them freely.

*

I take a stand

I embrace my truth

*

Finally, I spread my wings.

Now I can fly

The world is my oyster with my Eagle eye.

By Krzysztof Niewolny on Unsplash

***********************************

If you haven't joined the Vocal+ community, what are you waiting for? Join now to be a part of a community of creatives to share your content. Click here to join now.

***********************************

If you are looking for a group of writers who supports, provides feedback, reads, like, and provide tips, then join Vocal Creators Saloon. A small community with tons of advice and writing prompts will help you through your writer's journey.

inspirational
17

About the Creator

teisha leshea

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.