Poets logo

Fear of the Future

By Cameron Cronin

By Cameron B CroninPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Fear of the Future
Photo by Timon Studler on Unsplash

“Aren’t you afriad” they ask

Because as humans we are conditioned to be afraid of the unknown.

The ocean is full of the unknown, actually more than 80% of it is unexplored.

The ‘what ifs’ remain as they do with any occasion.

But somehow the ocean scares most people.

“Aren’t you afraid of the sharks” they ask me

I shake my head no every tme

They look at me as if I am crazy

But when majority of people are afraid of the unknown

I am afraid of what I DO know.

I’m afraid that I will turn on the TV and see video clips with sounds of bullets and the horror on children’s faces as they fear for their lives at school.

I am afraid I will open my outlook and get another email from my college of another student taking their life.

I’m afraid I’ll wake up one day and find out from social media that my reproductive rights have been altered against me.

I’m afraid I’ll see more scientists protesting about climate change saying that if we don’t do anything now that we will be doomed.

I’m afraid Gen Z will feel so overwhelmed by the lack of hope our world has and the invisible yet astronomical pressure that has been put on us to fix it will convince more people that this world is not worth staying in.

So, no, When I surf or swim far out in the ocean I’m not afraid of what could happen

Especially when there are risks more likely to go wrong with my birth control than a shark attack.

I’m more afraid of what has already happened and I am most afraid of you for not being scared shitless too.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    CBCWritten by Cameron B Cronin

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.