Poets logo

Fear Is...

From the collection Tight Graffiti written 3/12/20

By Sarah SniderPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Fear is a belly thing

is an animal circling to sit

restless in its pursuit of perfection

this can be a record of that

a record of the bees in me

the hive in my heart is

a constant zed, oscillating

I am counseling the queen

to hush and be still

but her drones are madness made real

and her subtle dance is alarming

I can feel my socks on a day like this

their tightness is a nuisance

my toes want the freedom to curl

and to touch and to breathe

I want to breathe, too

I want to lay in bed, half-laughing

breathing in soft happy chuffs

cool air on my shoulders

a bird in her nest

that fine image buoys for a while

until the magpie mouths open

and I cannot unhear-

the sweet cream curdles

Croatoan

--I wrote this the day before the pandemic became alarmingly real for me, 3/13/20. I had never witnessed panic among the public, and the pulsing of confusion, fear and worry was building to a crescendo. I can feel in my poetry from this time that same urgency. I told myself then, be realistic and scientific and you'll get through.--

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Snider

I am a great lover of poetry, magic, mystery and science. I am passionate about sharing what I know about herbs and herbal medicine.

She/Her

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.