Poets logo

Fear

do you get it yet?

By AshPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Fear
Photo by Daniele Levis Pelusi on Unsplash

maybe I don’t feel fearful, but inadequate. I’m not scared of what you’ll say but what I can do.

maybe I’m not scared I’ll fail but I’m scared of successful responsibility and how it would look to fail at that.

maybe I am not scared of confrontation but about what happens after the confrontation; I am not scared of what has happened but about what I could make happen

maybe I am not alone, I am just not listening. It’s not that no one can hear me but it only takes myself to hear me out and I am not listening.

I am choking myself with my own fears, feeling like I’m Finn the human fighting off fear from my belly button. seeing it all manifest right out of myself. I’m staring myself down in the mirror; I hate mirrors, but I’m staring myself down and I start to scream as I see a cloud of fear start pouring out of me.

I watch it pour out of me, I still try to run, knowing I am the only one who can make it go away and the only one who brought it up in conversation.

think If I run far enough I might be able to exhaust the fear out of me. think if I yell loud enough I will drown out my own thoughts. The only way out is through! c’mon, when are we going to realize that?

If I can be fearful I can be courageous,

If I can be courageous I can be outrageous and that might get me somewhere.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ash

Hello there! I'm ashl I love writing poetry, the main source to express the inside onto the outside, or essays as a conversation between you and me in order to hear myself better at times.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.