Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Fear

The Man

By Dasani JonesPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
6

Whenever I sin,

Fear creeps in.

~~~~~~~~~~~

I try to push Him away,

But He is the price I must pay.

~~~~~~~~~~~

I try to pray to God for repentance,

But sometimes I can’t even mutter a sentence.

~~~~~~~~~~~

Fear pulls me in for His icy hug of death,

But I can’t succumb, He’s a drug, like meth.

~~~~~~~~~~~

Every time I think I’m clear,

His piercing voice whispers in my ear.

~~~~~~~~~~~

Every time I think I can run,

My legs give out, so I pull out my gun.

~~~~~~~~~~~

I aim it at Fear and say,

“Go back to hell, or I’ll serve you on a tray!”

~~~~~~~~~~~

He doesn’t listen so I have to fire,

His body hits the ground with all my desire.

~~~~~~~~~~~

Finally I gather up the strength to leave,

I try to run but I’m stuck in His weave.

~~~~~~~~~~~

There’s no end in sight,

And the weave begins to grow tight.

~~~~~~~~~~~

“Maybe one day” I thought,

For I knew I was caught.

CONTENT WARNING
6

About the Creator

Dasani Jones

Hi! My name is Dasani, but my friends call me DD.

I am a collage student with big hopes and dreams.

I go to Fashion Institute of Technology and hope to become a fashion artist.

I am a part-time poet/author. Hope you enjoy them!😘😉❤️‍🔥

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher 3 months ago

    Fear is a terrible place to live. No gun can kill fear. As a matter of fact the act of violence makes fear stronger. But acts of love and beauty weaken fear. Thank you for sharing your art, your vulnerability, and your beauty.

  • We can never run away from what we have done. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.