Poets logo

"FATHER TIME, MOTHER EARTH"

"TIME TRAVELS ALWAYS"

By Vicki Lawana Trusselli Published about a month ago 3 min read
10
Sandy Denny - Who Knows Where the Time Goes

Listen to the song as you read the prose. Feel the words and visualization of time and our human lives as walk along our pathways of life of Father Time and Mother Earth.

The reality is we are human beings, and life happens.

We are to walk through the life of our paths moving forward and yet dealing with various personalities.

We live in a world fascinated by youth

As we get old

I am told

The young and the bold

Are the ones who matter

The old are no more than

A tin can

No longer elders

But just Grandpa or Grandma

Or a mom or dad

And this is sad

We worship youth

Which is uncouth

As everyone ages

Going through life’s stages

As our no longer youthful bodies

Become lame

In the game of perfect 10.

So how do the older people win?

I say,

Everyday

Think about the good ole days

Of sunshine and play

Of sunny days at the beach

Watching the sun go down

As we sit on the blanket in the sand

Of which

Was given to us by our grandma

Who passed away long ago

So,

I remember the walks down the boulevards of Hollywood,

And the nights on Sunset Strip,

Another one bites the dust,

Of lust

We must say

Long ago

Along the way

Grandma is old

And still bold

I have been told

An ole’ soul

Of the universe of time

Who knows where the time goes?

Time is here

Time was then

Time is now

But how

Do we relate

To the fate

Of time left or years

We wept

We cried

We sighed

We laughed

We hugged

We look at the moments of time

So, sublime

Of nuance of time

As the sun rises and sets

We sigh oh my

That’s me in the mirror of time

I see my body change with age

Not accepting the fact of old age

I look around and dream

Of streets of cars and bars

Of looking for Mr. Good Bar

No more

Life has changed

We stare at our screens

Of our paths moving forward

In the virtual reality of time

Of hearing rain spatter

And thunder clapping

Remembering the walks along the beach

Of the streets

Of hearing loud music

As we spread love and peace

And then we are told

We are old

Don’t live in the past grandma

I say to that

I know I am fat

It’s just like that

We are born

We live

We love

We die

The sky is blue now

The clouds are all around

As we sigh

We want to live

In the presence of a new dawn

Of AI and beyond

The stars shine

As we drink our wine

Of yesterday

Of the millions of stars

Of the moon

The sun

Of time

We are here

I shed a tear

I live today

My sweet child of father time

And mother earth.

The flowers are here

The trees are here

The time moves forward

So, who knows where the time goes?

It flies away

Everyday

As the clock ticks and

At midnight, the carriage

Turns into a pumpkin

As Cinderella is now old

And bold

And so, I am told

The young say

Oh grandma

I love you today

But I’m busy

No visit today

Maybe, next year

I shed a tear

In the year

Remember when I was young

And bold

Not old

The world was at my feet

As I wanted the whole beat

Of the drums to carry me away

Along the milky way

Of today

I realize

We are human

We are here to learn lessons

And the times of change

And the remains of

Love

Of life

Of birth

Of death

We are pure energy

Our souls live on

To return

It is now my concern

That I continue to learn

About life

And acceptance of old age

And not to rage

About life in a cage

Like a bird I fly away

Someday

Above the trees

Above the streets

Above the mountains of this obtained earth of beauty

I engage once again in the old question of old.

Who knows where the time goes?

Written by

VICKI LAWANA TRUSSELLI

AN OLE’ SOUL

I AM TOLD

SO BOLD

I AM SLOW

IN MY WALK

OF TIME

AS I NOW SIT

ON FATHER TIME

AND MOTHER EARTH

OF A BIT

MORE DECADES

OF TIME GOES AWAY

TODAY

COMES TOMORROW

AS IN THE YOUTH OF MY

RIDES IN MY DREAMS

ACROSS THE MILKY WAY

WHO KNOWS WHERE THE TIME GOES?

Stream of ConsciousnessProseOdeinspirationalFree VerseBallad
10

About the Creator

Vicki Lawana Trusselli

I worked for the music and film industry in Los Angeles, California and Austin, Texas. I studied nursing, journalism, art, film, and computers in college. I am an empath, Virgo; Leo moon rising, born on the cusp of Libra. Peace Out!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    I'm wondering with you, Vicki!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a month ago

    Amazing biographical poem

  • Raymond G. Taylorabout a month ago

    Great reflection on a great song and a much missed singer

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Sometimes it feels like just yesterday. And then bam, it hits us so hard. Loved your poem!

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    Exactly - who knows where the time goes. When young it is forever, when old it speeds up and we wonder how much is left...for us. Let's give respect to the elders and their knowledge along with loving the young ones their perspectives.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.