Poets logo

"ODE TO DANDELIONS"

"SPORES & SNIFFLES"

By Vicki Lawana Trusselli Published about a month ago 1 min read
5
PHOTO BY AUTHOR

‘ODE TO DANDELIONS

SPORES & SNIFFLES

Dandelions are so pretty,

Standing as a tower between blades of grass

As they sway in the wind spreading their leaves

As spores to greet me as I walk the pathway to try their seeds

They are bright yellow and round like a tiny sunflower.

I hear they are edible but to me they are a sore to my eye

As I walk by breathing their tiny petal spores as I pass by

I stand awhile looking at the sun and all around

The ground

I close my eyes and sigh.

‘Ode to the ocean waves and the feel of the sand beneath my feet.

I sigh.

I am in the desert of dandelions of food, medicine, and magic.

Dandelions grow in numerous conditions here

Where the cacti

Grow in the sand here.

My choice is the ocean and the smell of salty air,

Of breathing in the positive ions of the ocean breeze

Not breathing in the petal spores of the dandelions in the heat.

The cute little dandelion is okay for oral medication,

Just not breathing into my nose as I walk by my path,

Reminding myself their taproot is an asset for meds,

To heal

But they grow with the tap root in the ground,

With spores and petals greeting me

Just rooted between blades of grass

So, let it be.

I close my eyes once again, dream of ocean waves,

Realizing that Alexa is playing ocean sounds.

So, let it be.

Is it just me?

Or is it a dream?

So, I stay another day,

In the desert way

Remembering dandelion

Derives from the French den-de-lion

Meaning “lions' tooth.”

The yellow leaves that appear,

The spores and seed heads shall meet me here

As I walk my path in the desert, every day,

Every year.

WRITTEN BY

Vicki Lawana Trusselli

March 25, 2024

surreal poetryProseOdeFree Verseart
5

About the Creator

Vicki Lawana Trusselli

I worked for the music and film industry in Los Angeles, California and Austin, Texas. I studied nursing, journalism, art, film, and computers in college. I am an empath, Virgo; Leo moon rising, born on the cusp of Libra. Peace Out!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Terri Nickelson Williamsabout a month ago

    They can be such a nuisance in a garden and yard. Taking over and the wind blowing their seeds around the neighborhood. But, to children they are flowers to pick for their Moms to brighten her day. I cherish those memories of my children's smiles as they handed me a bouquet of wilted dandelions. Or when we'd make wishes by blowing the seeds into the wind. The giggles that we shared at the silly wishes we made. Those times pass too quickly and sometimes memories fade away. So I hold on to the smiles and joy I shared with my children and hope they also remember those times of fun and joy. Love you Vicki!

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    Hayfever?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.