Poets logo

Father/Son/Holy Spirit

An Easter poem about losing faith, daddy issues, and religious hypocrisy

By Rowan RileyPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
Like

You were reborn today

But I only remember you as a babe

Flesh of my flesh, blood of my blood

I only see you as the child I never met

~

You bear the wounds, I have them too

Holes in my hands, a burden upon my back

The weight of divinity is frightening

But you’ve been taken under by the current

~

You’re righteously tortured

But you shirk the responsibility of a martyr

You refuse to die for my sins

But you want me to praise you for your good deeds

~

I see myself in you

I see the worst parts of you in me

I know it’s possible to defy the Father

So why must you always pray to Him?

~

You can’t come back from this

You’re not the son of God

You were bruised by a mortal man

I wasn’t there to save you

~

Why can’t you see the curse?

Why can’t you see the easy escape?

Why do you make it so difficult to love you?

You tear my heart in half

~

It’s hard work loving men like us

I could have been a good daughter, a better son

I don’t know who I am

And I’m beyond His reach

~

I know how easy it is to refuse, so refuse him

I know how hard it is to try, but please just try

Cast aside you ego

See me not as some underling

~

I know the way you see me

Traitor, silver coins warm in my pocket

Am I not just playing my assigned role

So that you might fulfill your great prophecy?

~

I am wise

Wise enough to know a lost cause when I see one

Go to your tomb, lay down your head

I have no faith you’ll return to me

social commentarysad poetryFamily
Like

About the Creator

Rowan Riley

I've been writing since I was very young and am trying to put myself out there by sharing some of my works, both new and old.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.