Poets logo

Leviathan

A poem about God, abandonment, and being mean as a defense mechanism

By Rowan RileyPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
Like

Who am I to God?

I am Leviathan

The babe he incubated

Nimbus womb, encircled by the gilded and pearlescent firmament

I am the shade, the spirit half

The one who walks at midnight or at dawn

I am early to rise, late to slumber

Time passes in cylindrical sweeps about me

Like a ribbon dancer growing solid with the motion

Cocooning me

I am encrusted with barnacles

I am of that deep abyss which I was cast down into

The opposite of Heaven is not Hell

It is me, dark and deep and heavy

Where breath cannot be drawn

Where life goes to die

I wait here in the dark for all who come to die

Just the remnants of a burning heart

Fused into hard obsidian

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rowan Riley

I've been writing since I was very young and am trying to put myself out there by sharing some of my works, both new and old.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.