Poets logo

The Way Things Are

A poem by Rowan about Queerness, Protectiveness, Mentorship, & Fate

By Rowan RileyPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1

The young sparrow alights upon the branch

If I could save it from its fate I would

I never see the hawk in time

If I could break off one of the spokes

If I could jam it into the wheel of time

If I could stop the hurting heart

I would, in an instant I would

I don’t think fate is just to people like us

I don’t think the sparrow deserves it

To have the innocence of beauty crushed

The hawk flies, just as the sparrow does

How can he not see?

I have grown thick mammalian skin

This sparrow shouldn’t have to choose

Between being killed, and being destroyed

heartbreaksocial commentarynature poetry
1

About the Creator

Rowan Riley

I've been writing since I was very young and am trying to put myself out there by sharing some of my works, both new and old.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.