Poets logo

father figure

facts

By NJPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
4

Father.

Who are you?

Where are you?

You died when I was five.

It left a hole.

In my life.

It pierced my heart

I wish you were still alive.

In snapshots, left behind.

You laughed, and you smiled.

You held me close in your arms.

You and I.

You and mom.

I see old photographs.

I wish I knew you.

Do you wish you knew me?

I'm told that I like my tea the way you do.

We both love chopped scallions in our savoury pancakes.

That I have your forehead.

And your internalization of emotions.

I inquire to know more.

Know that I miss you.

I think of you daily.

Love you, dad.

heartbreak
4

About the Creator

NJ

A creative soul at heart. Truth, love and compassion influence my creativity in the form of writing, painting, and living life.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Malky McEwan5 months ago

    We all love our dads, don't we.

  • Kendall Defoe 5 months ago

    Excellent!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.