Poets logo

Fat Pants

A humble ode to the most well-loved piece of clothing in my wardrobe.

By Suze KayPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
6
Fat Pants
Photo by Frank Flores on Unsplash

How lovely it is to be forgiven,

cradled. When I feel like bursting at the seams,

make them elastic.

//

I want them natural, meltless in the hot breath of the kiln.

I want them draping the shelf of my ass, the spread of my thigh.

I want me in them: I want the give and the swell, I want it all.

//

I’m the woman. I bloat and shrivel, I wax

and wane with the moon. Give me a wide berth

and positive ease and pockets, give it all.

//

Three days on, then hang them on the line. I no longer fear

the late-night grocery run, the lazy Sunday, the patched knee:

Wherever I go, there I am.

social commentary
6

About the Creator

Suze Kay

Pastry chef by day, insomniac writer by night.

Find here: stories that creep up on you, poems to stumble over, and the weird words I hold them in.

Or, let me catch you at www.suzekay.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman10 months ago

    YEEEES! YES to all of this! I love my elastic pants!

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    Oh my goodness, great minds and all that… I’ve been telling people my plan to write about my menstrual cycle jeans for this challenge, LOL. I enjoyed your take on it.

  • Poppy 10 months ago

    Your poems are always a perfect mix of relatable reality and beautiful prose. This line was my favourite, 'I wax and wane with the moon.'

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.