Poets logo

Faraway Dreams

A poem about the fear of following my dreams

By Thomas FletcherPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Faraway Dreams
Photo by Илья Мельниченко on Unsplash

I'm scared to follow my dreams

All I have are thoughts like

Is there really a possible career

In being a writer

or a poet for me?

Is it too late for me

To pursue my dreams

Of being a poet

Or a writer

And making a profit

And a career out of

Something I love doing?

Am I too old to start?

Even though I'm

Only in my mid twenties,

What about my

Other dream careers?

Is it too late to

Possibly pursue them

And find a career

Doing one of those?

Have I wasted my life

And waited too long

To start trying

To follow my dreams?

Maybe that's all my

Dreams are, a fantasy

In my head that will

Never be much more

Than an idea in my head.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Thomas Fletcher

I like writing short stories, poetry, and probably eventually novels too. I enjoy reading those types of writings as well. I also enjoy listening to music, playing video games, and playing and watching basketball.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.