Poets logo

Far

A poem

By Leslie LPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Far
Photo by Photoholgic on Unsplash

I saw the pain

And heard it in your words

Felt it in your glare

And despite the cold distance

I searched for warmth

But found it was never there

I know your story

And am aware of your past

The reason behind your hateful stare

A world far away

A thousand stabs and regrets

On your soul they made their wear

And even though it’s far

It’s always near

Like a guillotine hanging silent in the air

Waiting to crash on its victim

Who lives and balances on eggshells

Of it’s presence I’m always aware

And now that you’re gone

I try to make sense, try to find reason

Search for belonging but don’t know where

It’s always far, far in another world

The same place of pain and sorrow

Your hateful soul trapped me there

And now I seek redemption

I’ll forge a new path, charge up a mountain

Stand up high, feel the wind in my hair

You were never with me

I didn’t mean to leave you far behind

But I know you’ll never be there

sad poetry

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    LLWritten by Leslie L

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.