Poets logo

Familiar

A poem on loss

By Josey PickeringPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Falcon the magical, RIP

I wonder if you were made of magic,

If you could feel spellwork in your blood

and every whispered encantation to the spirits was a song that whispered you to sleep.

You were the clouds that hug the moon at night,

My solace in the darkest hours.

You’d call me home with your meows

and I always thought I’d hear them.

I woke up in silence one day,

and knew the magic carried you away.

I’ll still feel your whiskers on my calf

but it’s just a ghost of you.

I’ve hung a cradle on my heart,

for you to sleep forever.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.