Poets logo

Falling

An ode to my favourite book

By Adina JunaidPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1
Falling
Photo by Shea Rouda on Unsplash

I wrote this late at night when my heart felt heavy, burdened under a myriad of emotions.

// The feeling of falling

Unaware, so suddenly, before warning or panic, my brain feels lightheaded

It's enjoying the feeling of losing control. Of letting go. Of losing sense of reality. Of falling with no goal, no aim, just enjoying the ride. //

The worries come later. Before my brain sees the soft sand beneath, it takes a sigh of relief, knowing I’ll be safe

Before grasping reality, curling in, holding tight to protect my fragile soul from smashing onto the hard concrete below.

my foolish lovesick heart takes over, before my brain gets to decide.

It’s a stubborn creature, this heart that whines and implies

That it’s ok to let go

Its ok to fall, because falling requires as much courage as a leap of faith.

With hesitancy, the brain implores,

giving in to the hope

That its ok to let go of the rope

The rope of strictness, of wisdom, of fear, of uncertainty.

I trip over my feet, jolted into bliss

//

A hitch in my perfect plan of life

The heart is a child I say, but it knows all. It knows you more than the brain who tries and tries without understanding that imperfection is perfect.

So when the heart tugs and makes me blush, I let go

breathless and falling, for a moment, not worrying about where I’ll land,

Merciless concrete or soft soothing sand.

//

Dive into the feeling of falling in love.

surreal poetrylove poemsFree Verseart
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Adina Junaid is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.